Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees

Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr. Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price



213 Gressette Building
P.O. Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 212-6430
Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr. Representative Mia McLeod

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 4, 2015

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees is accepting LETTERS OF INTENT to begin screening and qualifying candidates for the following seats:

The Citadel

One (1) at-large seat - term expires June 30, 2022

-- must be a graduate of The Citadel

Clemson University

Three (3) at-large seats - term expires June 30, 2020

College of Charleston/University of Charleston

1 st Congressional District - Seat 2	- term expires June 30, 202	0
2 nd Congressional District - Seat 4	- term expires June 30, 202	0
3 rd Congressional District - Seat 6	- term expires June 30, 202	0
4 th Congressional District - Seat 8	- term expires June 30, 202	0
5 th Congressional District - Seat 10	- term expires June 30, 202	0
6 th Congressional District - Seat 12	- term expires June 30, 202	0
7 th Congressional District - Seat 14	- term expires June 30, 202	0
At-large - Seat 16	- term expires June 30, 202	0

Francis Marion University

- term expires June 30, 2020
- term expires June 30, 2020

Lander University		
1 st Congressional District - Seat 1	_	term expires June 30, 2020
2 nd Congressional District - Seat 2	_	term expires June 30, 2020
3 rd Congressional District - Seat 3	_	term expires June 30, 2020
4 th Congressional District - Seat 4	_	term expires June 30, 2020
5 th Congressional District - Seat 5	_	term expires June 30, 2020
6 th Congressional District - Seat 6	_	term expires June 30, 2020
7 th Congressional District - Seat 7	_	term expires June 30, 2020
3		1 /
Medical University of South Carolina		
1 st Congressional District - lay member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
2 nd Congressional District - lay member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
3 rd Congressional District - lay member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
4 th Congressional District - medical member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
5 th Congressional District - medical member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
6 th Congressional District - lay member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
7 th Congressional District - medical member	-	term expires June 30, 2020
University of South Carolina		
2 nd Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Aiken, Bamberg or Barnwell counties)		
4 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon and Marlboro counties	s)	
6 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Chester, Fairfield and Lancaster counties)		
8 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Abbeville, Greenwood, Laurens and Newberry counties	5)	
10 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Anderson and Oconee counties)		
14 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Allendale, Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper co.	unties)	
15 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Georgetown and Horry counties)		
16 th Judicial Circuit	-	term expires June 30, 2020
(Union and York counties)		
Winthrop University		
3 rd Congressional District - Seat 3	_	term expires June 30, 2022
4 th Congressional District - Seat 4	_	term expires June 30, 2022
· Congressional District Sout I		131111 CAPITOS Julio 30, 2022

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

One (1) at-large seat Three (3) at-large seats - term expires June 30, 2017

term expires June 30, 2020

It is required by law that any person who wishes to offer as a candidate for a board position must notify the Legislative Screening Committee in writing of his/her intent to offer for the specific seat. For the at-large seats, a candidate must reside in South Carolina. For seats designated as congressional district seats or judicial circuit seats, candidates must reside in that congressional district or judicial circuit. For purposes of this committee - residence is determined by driver's license, voter registration, payment of 4% personal property tax and income tax filing.

THE DEADLINE FOR RECEIVING LETTERS OF INTENT IS WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 30, 2015 AT 12:00 NOON

The Letter of Intent <u>must be hand delivered</u> to the Committee Office - 213 Gressette Building in Columbia - no later than 12:00 noon on December 30, 2015. Questions should be addressed to either Martha Casto or Julie Price at 803-212-6430.

Upon receipt of the letter, the Application Packet will be given to the prospective candidate to be completed and must be <u>hand delivered</u> no later than <u>FRIDAY</u>, <u>JANUARY 29</u>, <u>2016 AT</u> 12:00 NOON.